College of Information and Computer Sciences Logo

Lee Osterweil receives 2014 ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Service Award

(Sun June 8, 2014)

In June, Professor Leon Osterweil accepted the 2014 ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Service Award "for promoting and expanding the field of software engineering through visionary leadership of the Impact Project and for bringing the community to China, and China into the community, by organizing ICSE 2006 in Shanghai, as well as sustained editorial, program, and award committee service." The award was presented at the 36th International Conference on Software Engineering, Hyderabad, India.

Read More

Andrew McCallum chosen for Yahoo! Faculty Research Award

(Wed June 4, 2014)

Professor Andrew McCallum is a recipient of a 2014 Yahoo! Faculty Research and Engagement Program (FREP) Award.  McCallum received the award for his work on "Knowledge Base Augmentation of Entities and Relations with Tensor Factorization."

Read More

Nominations now being accepted for 2016 Outstanding Achievement and Advocacy Awards

(Tue June 3, 2014)

To recognize their remarkable accomplishments of graduates of the College's degree programs and to acknowledge the support of important friends of the department, the College established the University of Massachusetts Amherst Computer Science School Outstanding Achievement and Advocacy Award (OAA) program, under which awards will be presented annually in various categories.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2016 OAA Awards. Nominations should be sent by email to outreach [at] cs [dot] umass [dot] edu by October 30, 2015.

Read More

Yuriy Brun selected for 2014 SEIF Award

(Fri May 30, 2014)

Assistant Professor Yuriy Brun has received one of twelve 2014 Microsoft Research Awards from the Software Engineering Innovation Foundation (SEIF), which support academic research in software engineering technologies, tools, practices, and teaching methods.

Read More

Andrew McCallum receives Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship Award

(Fri May 23, 2014)

Professor Andrew McCallum is a 2014-2015 UMass Amherst Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship Award Recipient, one of three chosen from the UMass Amherst campus. As a Conti Fellow, McCallum receives a year's leave of absence to concentrate on activities related to graduate education, research, creative work and scholarly attainment. Selection of the awardees is based on demonstrably outstanding accomplishment and potential for continued excellence in research and scholarly or creative activity.

Read More

Akshat Kumar wins ICAPS 2014 Best Dissertation Award

(Thu May 22, 2014)

Akshat Kumar (Ph.D. '13) was selected as the winner of the ICAPS (International Conference on Automated Planning and Scheduling) 2014 Best Dissertation Award. His dissertation "Exploiting Domain Structure in Multiagent Decision-Theoretic Planning and Reasoning" was completed in 2013. The award was presented at the 24th International Conference on Automated Planning and Scheduling thattook place in Portsmouth, NH in June. Kumar also recently received the UMass Amherst CS Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award.

Read More

Bruce Croft receives IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award

(Thu May 22, 2014)

The Institute of Electronics and Electrical Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society named Distinguished Professor Bruce Croft as a recipient of its 2014 Technical Achievement Award for “outstanding contributions to information retrieval and the development of search engines.” The award recognizes contributions in the past 10-15 years that significantly promoted technical progress in the field.

Read More

Tung Pham receives Barbara Burn Scholarship

(Mon May 19, 2014)

Tung Pham, a CS undergrad and Commonwealth Honors College student, who works with Professors Tim Richards and Rick Adrion, has recently received the Barbara B. Burn Memorial Scholarship. Dr. Barbara B. Burn founded the International Programs Office at UMass Amherst and devoted her career to the ideal of making international education accessible to any student. When she died in February 2002, her family, in cooperation with the University, established a memorial scholarship in her memory.

Read More

2014 Outstanding Achievement and Advocacy Awards

(Fri May 2, 2014)

The Sixth Annual Outstanding Achievement and Advocacy Awards ceremony was held on May 2, 2014. View OAA 2014 site for details on this year's recipients.

Read More

Lifetime email forwarding addresses for CS alums

(Fri March 7, 2014)

We are pleased to announce that Computer Science alum email forwarding addresses are now available for any of our UMass Amherst CS alums. Although you might change employers or Internet providers, your CS alum email address will always stay the same and will forward your email to whatever address you choose. The email address will generally be firstname [dot] lastname [at] alum [dot] cs [dot] umass [dot] edu. To sign up for your email forwarding address, go to

Read More

Significant Bits Winter issue now available

(Thu March 6, 2014)

The Winter 2014 Significant Bits newsletter is now available.  View now. Alums and friends should receive this issue in the mail by mid March. If you would like to be added to the mailing list for the print version, send email to bits [at] cs [dot] umass [dot] edu.

Read More

Letter from the Chair (Winter 2014)

(Wed March 5, 2014)

From the Chair

Read More